When the Electricity Trust of South Australia (ETSA), the supplier of electrical energy to homes and businesses throughout South Australia, decided in 1995 to discontinue holding a re-union gathering for retired employees, the then ETSA Welfare Officer, Vivienne Smith, recognized a need to continue a relationship with Retired Employees, and conceived the proposal to form an Association of Retired and Past Employees of ETSA.

Vivienne obtained permission from the then ETSA Acting General Manager, Don Gellard, to proceed with establishing the Association, modelling it on the Retired South Australian Police Association.

The ETSA Board agreed to provide a substantial monetary grant to finance the establishment and operation of the Association.

Vivienne convened a meeting with interested parties, and after much discussion the inaugural Committee was formed comprising:-

  • Foundation patron- Mr Clive Armour, CEO of ETSA
  • President-Don Gellard
  • Vice President Geoff O’Shaughnessy
  • Secretary-Garth Evans
  • Treasurer-Al Auliciems
  • Committee Members –Peter Cotton, Mrs M Brown, Peter Russell, Les Dixon, O H (Ossie) Goldsworthy, Peter Burgess and Barry Thorne

    An invitation went out to all Retired Employees, and the rest is history.

    Change of Name

    After the sale and distribution of ETSA and its assets in 2018 members agreed with the Committee of Management that the scope of Membership should be increased to encompass the broad range of all persons working under the general heading of energy/power industries including electrical, gas or any other energy production or distribution operation. The new name adopted was The SA Energy Industry Past Employees Association Inc.

    Activities of the Association include…

  • provision of ongoing opportunities for ALL former employees of energy/power industry organizations in South Australia, to retain social contact;
  • Promoting recreational, and sporting activities for Members, Movie and Theatre visits, Luncheons, BBQ’s, Guest Speakers and Tours;
  • Provision of a well-equipped Workshop and Electrical Museum (The Sir Thomas Playford ETSA Museum)
  • Promotion and fostering the welfare and good fellowship of Female and Male past employees;
  • Other Benefits of joining the Association are:-

  • attendance at the Annual end-of-year function.
  • attendance at functions for members with their spouses, partners and friends.
  • with arrangement, with the Museum Manager access to the workshop and Museum at Kurralta Park for suitably trained personnel.
  • opportunities to assist with the management of the association, and the development of the Sir Thomas Playford ETSA Museum.
  • receipt of “Adelect”, the Association’s regular newsletter.
  • Ordinary Membership is open to: -

  • any person (retired or not), Female or Male who was employed by ETSA, SA Power Networks, ElectraNet SA, AGL, Alinta Energy, or any other organization in the energy/power industry,
  • the spouse or partner of any person who is eligible to join the Association.
  • a person recommended by the committee and approved by the members in a general meeting.
  • The Museum

    The Association manages the Sir Thomas Playford ETSA Museum situated at the former Kurralta Park Depot. This site provides a “home” for the Association and includes meeting rooms and a well-equipped workshop that is available to members by arrangement with the museum manager. A happy team of volunteers meets regularly at Kurralta Park, usually on Tuesdays from 9.00am to 3.00 pm, restoring artefacts for the museum and generally socialising over lunch or a “cuppa”.

    Membership Fees

    The current annual membership fee is $20 for Adelaide metropolitan members and $15 for country members. “Pre-paid whole of life membership” is also available on request. If you would like to join the Association please complete the form on the "Membership" page of this web site.

    Association Constitution (Rules)

    The rules of the Association can be found here.